One Timothy Idowu has been arrested by
the police in Lagos state for allegedly
raping his 15-year-old daughter in the
Aradagun, Badagry area of the state.
The state Police Public Relations Officer,
PPRO, SP Dolapo Badmos, who
confirmed the arrest to newsmen at the
weekend, said Idowu was arrested on
Thursday by the Badagry Police Division.
According to the PPRO, the matter got to
the attention of the police after the
unnamed packed from her father’s
apartment to put up with a family
member in the Ikotun area.
Speaking with the Punch, the victim said,
“I am 15 years old. I am in Senior
Secondary Class 2.
“My father deflowered me several months
ago, and he had been raping me since
then. Whenever he did it, he would clean
up the mess and warn me not to tell
anybody.
“The last time it happened, my mother
was ill and bedridden.
“My father travelled for a prayer meeting
after raping me so I ran away from home
to my aunt’s place in Ikotun. It was my
aunt who reported the case,” she added.

On her part, the aunt simply identified as
Gloria said, “The girl came to me on the
day she was fleeing home and said her
father had been raping her. I thought she
was mentally unstable, until the man was
arrested some days ago.
Speaking with the Punch, a social worker,
simply identified as Ibrahim, was said to
have reported the matter to the police.
Ibrahim said, “The victim fled to a
relative, who is her aunt in the Ikotun
area. The aunt thereafter contacted our
organisation. The case got to my
attention last week. I reported the case at
the police station in Badagry immediately
and the man was arrested.
“The victim said she could not bear it
anymore as her father had raped her
several times in the year. She said
anytime the family slept at night, the
father would sneak into her room and
rape her. He would thereafter warn her
not to tell anyone.
Meanwhile, the police spokesperson said
the victim had been kept in government’s
custody and her father, who is being
investigated, is in police custody.

