The fixtures for the 2nd Beach Soccer
Africa Cup of Nations
, “Nigeria 2016”, have been released with
14 teams battling for the seven places for
the final tournament.
This is contained in a statement on the
Website of the African Football
Confederation (CAF) on Monday.
The teams in contention are Cape Verde,
Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Egypt, Liberia,
Libya, Kenya, Madagascar, Morocco,
Mozambique, Senegal, Sudan, Tanzania
and Uganda.
The fixtures pit Senegal against Cape
Verde, Uganda vs. Egypt, Liberia vs.
Morocco, Tanzania vs. Cote D’Ivoire and
Kenya vs. Ghana, Mozambique vs.
Madagascar and Libya vs. Sudan.
All the qualifying matches would be
played between Aug. 26 and Sept. 18.
There will be only one round of qualifiers
where seven teams will emerge to join
hosts Nigeria for the final tournament
scheduled to hold from Dec. 13 to Dec.
The finalists at the continental
championship will qualify to represent
Africa at the FIFA Beach Soccer World
Cup from April 27 to May 7, 2017 in the
Madagascar was crowned champions for
the 2015 edition having beat Senegal 2-1
on penalties in the final in Seychelles.