The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)
on Tuesday released its zoning
arrangements for the various party
offices at the national level.
In a report presented by the chairman
of the zoning committee, Governor
Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State, the
position of  National Chairman was
zoned to the south, comprising the
Southwest, Southeast and the South-
south. The North takes the position of
National Secretary.
The party will now have two Deputy
National Chairman, one for the North
and one for the South.
Other positions zoned to the South
include those of the National Treasurer,
National Legal Adviser, National Youth
Leader, National Organising Secretary,
Deputy National Publicity Secretary,
Deputy National Woman Leader,
Deputy National Auditor and Deputy
National Financial Secretary.
The North, comprising the three
geopolitical zones in the region will
share the positions of National
Secretary, National Financial
Secretary, National Publicity Secretary,
National Auditor, National Woman
Leader, Deputy National  Treasurer,
Deputy National Organising Secretary,
Deputy National Youth Leader, Deputy
National Legal Adviser and Deputy
National Secretary.
Each of the six geopolitical zones is to
present a National Vice Chairman who
will be included in the party’s National
Working Committee (NWC).
Under the new zoning arrangement, all
positions are to be keenly contested by
aspirants from all the states that fall
under the region to which the offices
are zoned.
While presenting a report to the
caretaker committee of the PDP,
Governor Umahi said, “As a guide, the
committee considered earlier zoning
arrangements in the party since its
inception to date, and equally
examined previous happenings in the
party in respect of restrictions to equal
participation of members.”
He added that in arriving at the new
zoning arrangement, the committee
opted for a paradigm shift from what
he described as the unsatisfactory
practices within the party operations in
the past.