The right-back admits there is a huge
difference between his new team and
Club Brugge but says he is thrilled to
have signed and hopes to bring a lot to
the French champions
New signing Thomas Meunier said
Paris Saint-Germain are a club no
footballer could ever say no to after
starring on debut for the French
champions.
Meunier scored twice on his non-
competitive bow against European
champions Real Madrid in the
International Champions Cup on
Wednesday, coming off the bench to
bag a brace in the 3-1 victory.
The right-back is a new arrival in Paris,
having signed from Belgian outfit Club
Brugge where he made over 150 league
appearances, but said he was already
seeing the differences between his
former employers and PSG.
“There’s a big difference between Paris
Saint-Germain and my previous club
Bruges. This is a discovery, it’s like a
new world here and that shows even on
this tour in the US,” Meunier said.
“The professionalism and organisation
here are extreme and this is such a
great discovery.
“When a club like Paris knocks on your
door, you don’t hesitate for long.
“You can ask a few questions of
yourself but life is about choices and
you can’t have any regrets. I’m so
happy to join one of the top five teams
in Europe.
“I couldn’t refuse, you don’t turn down
a club like Paris Saint-Germain.”
And while he might be new to the club,
Meunier said he expects to play a big
role under coach Unai Emery, adding
he possesses the necessary qualities to
slot right into his game plan.
“The coach counts a lot on his full-
backs. My physical qualities mean I can
run a lot and I’m just as technically
able in front of goal as I am in defence,
as I used to be a forward,” the 24-
year-old said.
“I think I can bring a lot to this team,
especially going forward.”

