The Real Madrid coach is one of three
players the new Blaugrana man looks
up to as a player, while he also
admired former Barca and Inter hitman
Ronaldo
New Barcelona signing Andre Gomes
says Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane, Andres
Iniesta and Xavi are among his
footballing idols.
Barca parted with an initial fee of
€35million to sign the midfielder from
Valencia in a deal that could eventually
rise in value to €70m.
After winning Euro 2016 with Portugal,
Gomes was delighted to cap a dream
close season by joining a club he has
always admired.
Having sealed his move, the 23-year-
old revealed Ronaldo and current Real
Madrid boss Zidane, along with Barca
icons Iniesta and Xavi were
inspirational figures in his development.
When asked about his footballing idols,
Gomes told Barca TV: “When I was
younger I had someone that I admired
a lot, Ronaldo ‘El Fenonemno’, who
started here at Barcelona before
moving to Inter. I loved the way he
played when he started.
“Zidane was a very important figure. I
used to see him as an example, as
Iniesta is today and Xavi, who are two
huge players.
“He set an example in the same way as
Iniesta now and Xavi not so long ago.
They are two very important players.
Now I have the chance to enjoy playing
alongside at least one of them.”
Gomes is eager to get going and has
been impressed by what he has seen of
Barca’s stars from afar.
He continued: “I can improve a lot. I
promise hard work, humility and
sacrifice, all to help the team. These are
the most important things.
“The club’s playing style is what is best
for me. I’m really excited to play with
my new team-mates. The forwards are
the best there are and the very good
players in midfield have a lot of
experience.
“I want to end the season with us
winning everything and celebrating
trophies, that is the most important
thing.”

