The Labour Party was on Sunday
declared the winner of the bye-election for
the Oorelope State Constituency of Oyo
Its candidate, Lukman Balogun, was
declared winner of the election after he
polled 6,122 votes.
Balogun was a former caretaker
Committee Chairman of Oorelope Local
Government Area.
Candidate of the All Progressives
Congress, APC, Jimoh Gbadamosi, polled
4,148 votes, while candidate of the
Accord Party, Solomon Olabisi, polled
2,123 votes.
The election was conducted to fill the
vacancy created in the Oyo State House
of Assembly sequel to the murder of Hon.
Gideon Aremu, who also rode to power on
the platform of the LP.
Aroma was shot dead in front of his
Alakia, Ibadan home on July 1 by armed
robbers, who have since been
apprehended by the police.
Reacting to his declaration as winner by
the Independent National Electoral
Commission, INEC, Balogun thanked the
commission and his supporters.
He said: “The surprising thing in this
election is that we defeated them with
1,996 during the poll that returned the late
Hon. Aremu and today, we have posted a
similar margin.
“We had 1,974. It shows that the people
believe in us and we will not let them
The Oyo State House of Assembly made
up of 18 members elected on the platform
of the APC, eight produced by the Accord
Party and one from the LP.
Initially, LP had six members, but five
defected to the APC.